DECEMBER 7, 2017

11:30 AM

President David Byrd called the meeting to order with the following members present: Donald Addis, Mike Beasley, Robert D’Amato, Chris Hamilton, Bob Hayes, Dann Holland, Zach Norris, Tim Perkins, Brandon Smith, Sherry Smith, Mike Srock, Randy Stogner, Rick Tate, Kenneth Tucker, Debbie Wardlaw, George Wham, and Derek Youngblood.  Board member not present: Doug Shaw, Jr.

President Byrd covered the minutes of the July 22, 2017 Board Meeting, and the July 25, 2017 General Business Meeting in Charleston.  Without objection the minutes were approved.

Coach Dula updated the Board on the monthly salary information, and the year to date major expenses incurred since the July meeting.  He continued by discussing a detailed summary of expenses and income (received from sponsors) pertaining to the SCACA Clinic for 2017.

Mary Dula provided the Board with a comparison on scholarships awarded over the past five years.  This report shows a significant increase of 21scholarships awarded in 2017 compared to 2016. She continued by detailing the 2017 contributions of $62,675 received from organizations and individuals. The SCACA awarded $81,000 in college scholarships to members’ children in 2017.  The deadline for application for 2018 is April 1st.

Next on the agenda, a letter written by Jack Taylor from Charles Schwab was presented that summarized the SCACA investment portfolio.  Coach Dula reminded the Board that Mr. Taylor will be attending the Board of Directors Meeting in March to answer any further questions concerning the portfolio.

David Byrd updated the Board on membership for 2017-18. As of December 1, 2017 the SCACA membership totaled 6,549.

Angie Ray was recognized and updated the Board on the Auxiliary Membership Association totals as of December 1, 2017. The Auxiliaries have been updated on the status of their membership and reminded that records would be closed for the year as of December 31, 2017.   Angie continued by covering the recent changes made to the SCACA website (, and information was given detailing the Non-Member Coach/Late Fee report for the fall all-star events.

After Tallulah Richardson gave a brief report on the North/South Football activities, President Byrd asked the Board to review the information on North/South Girls Golf, North/South Volleyball, and North/South Girls Tennis provided in each member’s packet. He continued by pointing out the number of nominees received by sport were detailed on the agenda for further information.

President Byrd recognized Bob Hayes, SCHSL Executive Committee Representative.  Coach Hayes reminded the Board that any proposals concerning Constitutional changes are due by January 1st to the High School League Office. The executive committee will be meeting on January 11th to hear hardship appeals.

Coach Dula was recognized to provide an update on clinic expenses for 2017.

President Byrd recognized Phil Lunn, with Helms Briscoe to provide information on the clinic proposals for 2020 and 2021. Board members reviewed information from Greenville and Charleston, and after extensive discussion, Randy Stogner made a motion that we accept the proposal from Greenville for 2020 and 2021. Mike Srock seconded the motion, all in favor.

Coach Dula presented a proposal to the Board to increase the 2018-19 SCACA membership dues to $50 if paid by July 10th and $55 after July 10th. Mike Beasley seconded the motion, all in favor.

President Byrd reminded each Board member that Hall of Fame nominations are due February 1, 2018. The Middle School Coach of the Year and Assistant Coach of the Year nominations are due March 1, 2018.  He continued by reminding the Board of the positions to be decided at the Annual Business Meeting in July. The positions for election this year are: AAAAA Lower, AAAA Upper, AAA Lower, AA Upper and A Lower. Coaches from these classicifications who would like to run for the Board should send a written indication to the SCACA office by June 1, 2018.

The next board meeting is scheduled for Thursday, March 8, 2018 at the South Carolina High School League Office in Columbia at 10:00 a.m.

Without objection the meeting was adjourned.