JULY 28, 2020

11:00 A.M.

President Mike Srock called the meeting to order with the following members present: Mike Beasley, David Byrd, Carlos Cave, Jason Farmer, Dann Holland, Chris Martin, Zach Norris, Tim Perkins, David Prince, Doug Shaw, Brandon Smith, Sherry Smith, Randy Stogner, Rick Tate, Jimmy Woods, and Derek Youngblood. Absent: Chris Hamilton.


Coach Srock called on Charles Gee for the invocation.


President Srock presented the minutes of the March 5, 2020 Auxiliary Representatives and Board Meeting, at the South Carolina High School League office in Columbia. Without objection the minutes were approved.


Coach Dula presented the Board with the summary of the year-end audit performed by McKinley, Cooper & Co.  Cindy Jacobs covered the report in detail. The audit was clear with no audit findings.


Coach Dula continued by updating the Board on the monthly salary information, and the year date major expenses incurred since the March meeting.


According the Coach Dula the current membership total is 2,897. This is about 50% of the total from last year.  Membership cards will not be printed until schools have started for the year.


Next on the agenda, a letter written by Jack Taylor from Charles Schwab was presented that summarized the SCACA investment portfolio


Cindy Jacobs discussed her ideas to keep our clinic vendors involved with our membership throughout the year. Most of the vendors the paid for a clinic booth in 2020 have requested that we keep their registration fee to be used at the 2021 All Sports Clinic in Greenville.


Coach Srock continued by providing the Board with a comparison on scholarships awarded in 2020. Checks totaling $87,000 will be written to 175 recipients in August.


Angie Ray was recognized to cover the recent changes made to the SCACA website ( These changes included listing all SCACA scholarship recipients and current Coach of the Year recipients by sport.


Charles Gee, SCACA Chaplin requested input from the Board on outreach ideas to further assist the coaches of South Carolina.


President Srock recognized Mike Beasley, SCHSL Executive Committee Representative. Coach Beasley gave a brief update on the business of the Executive Committee and commented on the positive way Board member Carlos Cave had served on the Executive Committee and thanked him for his hard work.


Sherry Smith the Board Middle School Representative was recognized, she was excited to share that the speakers secured for this year’s clinic have all agreed to speak at the 2021 clinic.  These speakers are Mark Hodge (FB), Jessica Mason (Middle School Coach of the Year), and Grace Franklin (BT).


Coach Srock shared the report from the Nominating Committee listing the following slate of officers for 2020-2021:

  • Tim Perkins, President
  • Derek Youngblood, 1st Vice President
  • Jimmy Woods, 2nd Vice President


The election of board members was covered by Angie Ray. All votes will be cast using SurveyMonkey. The voting will take place beginning on Monday, August 3rd at noon and conclude on Wednesday, August 5th at 11:59 p.m. The weblinks will be shared with the membership on mass email.


Mary Dula was recognized to discuss options for presenting service awards along with possible alternate plans for the Hall of Fame Banquet.


Coach Srock stated that the Strength Coach Association had requested in writing an increase in their auxiliary dues for $5 to $10. David Byrd made motion that the dues be increased to $10 for the Strength Coaches Association beginning in 2021. Motion was seconded by David Prince, all in favor the motion passed.


Coach Dula was pleased to share with the Board the new sponsor partnership with Munnerlyn & Company in Greenwood.


The next board meeting is scheduled for Thursday, December 10, 2020 at the Dunes Club in Myrtle Beach at 12:00 noon.  The spring meetings will be held on March 4, 2021 at 10:00 at the SCHSL Office.


Tim Perkins made motion that the meeting be adjourned, seconded by Randy Stogner. Without objection the meeting was adjourned.